SAGUARO SANCTION.jpg

SAGUARO SANCTION

by Scott Graham

When Janelle Ortega’s cousin from Mexico is found brutally murdered at a remote petroglyph site in Saguaro National Park, she and her husband, archaeologist Chuck Bender, are drawn deep into a threatening web of hostility and deceit stretching south across the US-Mexico border and back in time a thousand years, to when the Hohokam people thrived in the Sonoran Desert.

Book 8 in Scott Graham's National Park Mystery Series introduces readers to the landscapes and cultural histories of Saguaro National Park in southern Arizona, providing an inside look at the wonders of the wildly popular national park and its archaeological and cultural complexities.

March 2023 | Fiction/Mystery | 978-1-948814-75-1 |Trade Paper | 275 pp$16.95

PRAISE FOR SAGUARO SANCTION

Saguaro Sanction delivers an expertly plotted, page-turning mystery . . . Graham weaves environmental and historical details together with stunning backcountry landscapes.”
MARGARET MIZUSHIMA, author of the award-winning Timber Creek K-9 Mysteries, including Standing Dead 

 

"With Saguaro Sanction, Graham has pulled off yet another storytelling feat: a whodunit in the tradition of Agatha Christie and Ellery Queen, set in the rugged majesty of one of the lesser known national parks. Touching on themes both new and familiar to his work—family, immigration, the uniquely complicated history of the land at its core—this is a sleek mystery brimming with heart and powered by rocket fuel."
C. MATTHEW SMITH, author of Twentymile

 

“Prickly issues, a dramatic setting, and a taut plot—Saguaro Sanction scores a trifecta of suspenseful reading pleasure. With Scott Graham at the wheel, you know you’re in for a rewarding ride.”

MARK STEVENS, author of The Fireballer and the Allison Coil Mystery Series

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

IMG_7462.JPG

SCOTT GRAHAM is the author of the acclaimed National Park Mystery series, featuring archaeologist Chuck Bender and Chuck’s spouse, Janelle Ortega. In addition to the National Park Mystery series, Scott is the author of five nonfiction books, including Extreme Kids, winner of the National Outdoor Book Award. Scott is an avid outdoorsman who enjoys backpacking, river rafting, skiing, and mountaineering. He has made a living as a newspaper reporter, magazine editor, radio disk jockey, and coal-shoveling fireman on the steam-powered Durango-Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. He lives with his spouse, who is an emergency physician, in Durango, Colorado.

Author Website

Also by the Author

CANYONLANDS CARNAGE.jpg
Mesa Verde Victim